1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. DRC

12 presidents invited to Lusaka peace talks

Twelve regional leaders have been invited to the Lusaka summit on Tuesday to discuss ceasefire terms for the Congo conflict, the Chinese news agency Xinhau reported yesterday (Thursday). Zambian President Frederick Chiluba has invited the heads of state of Angola, Botswana, DRC, Kenya, Gabon, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe. They are to agree the mechanisms to enable the signing of a truce. The summit follows a meeting of foreign and defence ministers on Monday.

This article was produced by IRIN News while it was part of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. Please send queries on copyright or liability to the UN. For more information: https://shop.un.org/rights-permissions

Share this article

Get the day’s top headlines in your inbox every morning

Starting at just $5 a month, you can become a member of The New Humanitarian and receive our premium newsletter, DAWNS Digest.

DAWNS Digest has been the trusted essential morning read for global aid and foreign policy professionals for more than 10 years.

Government, media, global governance organisations, NGOs, academics, and more subscribe to DAWNS to receive the day’s top global headlines of news and analysis in their inboxes every weekday morning.

It’s the perfect way to start your day.

Become a member of The New Humanitarian today and you’ll automatically be subscribed to DAWNS Digest – free of charge.

Become a member of The New Humanitarian

Support our journalism and become more involved in our community. Help us deliver informative, accessible, independent journalism that you can trust and provides accountability to the millions of people affected by crises worldwide.