1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Southern Africa

New US aid based on commitment to reform

Lesotho, Madagascar and Mozambique are among 16 developing countries eligible to apply for a new US-sponsored aid programme, but disbursement of the funds will depend on their ongoing commitment to political and socioeconomic reforms. US Secretary of State Colin Powell said in a statement on Monday that the candidate countries were chosen to participate in the Millennium Challenge Account (MCA), based on "both the past and current policy performance in the areas of governing justly, investing in their own people and promoting economic freedom". The three southern African countries are some of the poorest in the region and the US $1 billion provided by the MCA for the 2004 financial year is expected to help jumpstart their economies. "Mozambique and Madagascar were obvious choices because of their recent push towards greater economic liberalisation. On the corruption front, both countries have also introduced strict policies to control graft. Lesotho, on the other hand, has managed to maintain relative political stability in recent years," a senior researcher at the Pretoria-based Institute of Security Studies, Jenni Clover, told IRIN. Among other conditions, countries accessing the aid package have to agree to regular independent assessment of their progress towards improving social conditions. However, some African countries have found fault with the programme's eligibility criteria, arguing that structural adjustment programmes had negatively impacted on their chances of qualifying for participation in the MCA. There were also concerns that the information used to assess eligibility was outdated. According to Richard Cornwell, a regional analyst, "the countries chosen were assessed on data retrieved in 2002. Since then there have been regime changes in Africa, and subsequent efforts to improve governance. The MCA does not take into consideration these developments". The MCA also approved the "Threshold Country" programme, in which countries displaying commitment to political and economic reform will have an added incentive to speed up reform, to make them eligible for MCA assistance in future years.

This article was produced by IRIN News while it was part of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. Please send queries on copyright or liability to the UN. For more information: https://shop.un.org/rights-permissions

Share this article

Get the day’s top headlines in your inbox every morning

Starting at just $5 a month, you can become a member of The New Humanitarian and receive our premium newsletter, DAWNS Digest.

DAWNS Digest has been the trusted essential morning read for global aid and foreign policy professionals for more than 10 years.

Government, media, global governance organisations, NGOs, academics, and more subscribe to DAWNS to receive the day’s top global headlines of news and analysis in their inboxes every weekday morning.

It’s the perfect way to start your day.

Become a member of The New Humanitarian today and you’ll automatically be subscribed to DAWNS Digest – free of charge.

Become a member of The New Humanitarian

Support our journalism and become more involved in our community. Help us deliver informative, accessible, independent journalism that you can trust and provides accountability to the millions of people affected by crises worldwide.