(formerly IRIN News) Journalism from the heart of crises

Opposition names shadow cabinet

Meanwhile, news reports on Thursday said the opposition Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) had announced a 15-member shadow cabinet to spearhead the party’s policies in the new parliament. The MDC cabinet does not make provision for deputy ministers or governors.

MDC leader Morgan Tsvangirai said the shadow ministers were being appointed as part of a training programme to prepare them for a variety of government functions and roles and would be changed from time to time. University of Zimbabwe law professor and MDC’s secretary-general, Welshman Ncube, is shadow home affairs minister.

Prominent lawyers Tendai Biti and David Coltart fill in foreign affairs and justice portfolios respectively, while retired army colonel Giles Mutsekwa gets the defence slot.
Economist, Tapiwa Mashakada, is finance and economic planning minister, educationist, Fidelis Mhashu, is shadow education minister, and Renson Gasela gets the lands and agriculture position. Evylin Masaiti, the party’s legislator for Mutasa constituency, will be shadow minister of gender, youth and culture. The shadow minister of environment and tourism is Hilda Suka Mafudze.

Share this article
Join the discussion

Support our work

Donate now